IT Support & Help Desk

Apple Certified Support Professional (Apple Device Support exam) vs Cisco Certified Support Technician (CCST) IT Support vs CompTIA A+: Which IT Support & Help Desk Certification Should You Choose

Illustration for Apple Certified Support Professional (Apple Device Support exam) vs Cisco Certified Support Technician (CCST) IT Support vs CompTIA A+: Which IT Support & Help Desk Certification Should You Choose
AI-generated illustration

The Short Answer

Choose the Apple Certified Support Professional if you require a certification covering multiple Apple tracks within a single $149 USD voucher that expires 12 months after purchase. Select the Cisco CCST IT Support for a shorter 50-minute exam at a cost of $125 USD, though the validity period is not stated. Opt for CompTIA A+ if you are prepared for two separate exams, as the total cost is approximately $506 and regional pricing may vary.

Career changers seeking entry into IT support often look for credentials that validate practical skills without requiring a traditional degree. In the IT Support and Help Desk category, three popular options stand out: Apple Certified Support Professional, Cisco Certified Support Technician, and CompTIA A+.

Each of these certifications targets specific vendor ecosystems or general hardware knowledge, making them valuable for different job markets. Understanding the scope and focus of each credential helps you choose the path that aligns with your career goals and local job opportunities.

Quick Comparison

CertificationPriceFree PlanVerified
Apple Certified Support Professional (Apple Device Support exam)$149 USD exam voucher (Apple Certification Store on Pearson VUE; the same voucher covers Apple Device Support and Apple Deployment and Management). Vouchers expire 12 months after purchaseNot confirmed on the official page2026-10-09
Cisco Certified Support Technician (CCST) IT Support$125 USD for the 100-140 CCST IT Support exam (50 minutes). Validity/renewal period is not stated on the exam pageNot confirmed on the official page2026-10-09
CompTIA A+$253 per exam (two exams required, ~$506 total) — per-exam price can vary by region/reseller, confirm on official CompTIA store before publishingFree practice questions available on CompTIA site (Core 1: comptia.org/en-us/certifications/a/core-1-v15/practice-questions/, Core 2: .../core-2-v15/practice-questions/)2026-09-16

How We Compare

The prices and plan details in the table above are what we recorded for each certification, last checked between 2026-09-16 and 2026-10-09. Each section below links to the official site. Prices change often, so confirm the current price there before you decide.

Apple Certified Support Professional (Apple Device Support exam)

Verified 2026-10-09

Overview

Apple Certified Support Professional is an IT Support and Help Desk certification focused on Apple Device Support. It is administered through a $149 USD exam voucher purchased from the Apple Certification Store on Pearson VUE.

Best Features
  • Covers both Apple Device Support and Apple Deployment and Management with a single voucher
  • Administered via the Apple Certification Store on Pearson VUE
  • Voucher has a validity period of 12 months after purchase
Best For

Career changers seeking an entry-level IT Support and Help Desk credential who can afford a $149 USD exam fee.

Pros
  • One voucher covers multiple related exam topics
  • Clear expiration window of 12 months allows for planning
Cons
  • Requires a $149 USD payment for the exam voucher
Visit Official Site

Cisco Certified Support Technician (CCST) IT Support

Verified 2026-10-09

Overview

Cisco Certified Support Technician (CCST) IT Support is a certification in the IT Support & Help Desk category. The exam consists of 50 minutes to complete.

Best Features
  • Falls under the IT Support & Help Desk category
  • Exam duration is 50 minutes
  • Officially verified as of 2026-10-09
Best For

Individuals seeking an IT Support & Help Desk certification with a known 50-minute exam duration and a price of $125 USD.

Pros
  • Costs $125 USD
  • Certification status is factually verified
Cons
  • Validity and renewal period is not stated
Visit Official Site

CompTIA A+

Verified 2026-09-16

Overview

CompTIA A+ is an entry-level certification in the IT Support & Help Desk category that requires passing two separate exams. It is designed for individuals seeking to validate their foundational skills in computer hardware, software, and troubleshooting.

Best Features
  • Free practice questions are available for both Core 1 and Core 2 on the official CompTIA site
  • The certification consists of two distinct exams: Core 1 and Core 2
  • The credential covers essential IT support and help desk competencies
Best For

This certification is ideal for career changers looking to enter the IT support field without a degree, provided they are prepared to pay for two separate exams.

Pros
  • Access to complimentary practice questions for both exam domains
  • Recognized entry-level credential for IT support roles
Cons
  • Total cost is approximately $506 because two exams are required
Visit Official Site

How to Choose the Right Certification

Total exam investment

Some certifications require multiple distinct exams to achieve the full credential, which significantly increases the total cost compared to single-exam options. You should calculate the cumulative price of all required components and check for regional variations in pricing before committing to a path.

Voucher expiration rules

Purchased exam vouchers often have limited validity periods, meaning you must complete the test within a specific timeframe after purchase. It is critical to verify the exact expiration window and ensure your study schedule aligns with these deadlines to avoid financial loss.

Scope of covered skills

Different certifications may bundle support and management topics into a single credential or separate them into distinct tracks. Review the official exam objectives to determine if the credential covers both user support and device deployment, ensuring it matches your specific career goals.

Credential renewal requirements

Some certifications specify a clear validity period or renewal cycle, while others do not explicitly state renewal details on their primary exam pages. You should investigate whether the certification requires periodic recertification or additional fees to maintain its active status over time.

Which Certification Is Best

The Apple Certified Support Professional exam is suitable for readers focusing on Apple ecosystems, as the $149 USD voucher covers both Apple Device Support and Apple Deployment and Management. The Cisco CCST IT Support exam costs $125 USD for a 50-minute test but does not specify a validity or renewal period. CompTIA A+ requires completing two exams for a total of approximately $506, with per-exam pricing of $253 that can vary by region.

FAQ

How much does the Apple Certified Support Professional exam cost?

The exam voucher costs $149 USD and is purchased through the Apple Certification Store on Pearson VUE. This single voucher covers both the Apple Device Support and Apple Deployment and Management exams. Note that vouchers expire 12 months after purchase.

What is the price and duration of the Cisco CCST IT Support exam?

The 100-140 CCST IT Support exam costs $125 USD and takes 50 minutes to complete. The provided facts do not state a validity or renewal period for this certification.

How many exams are required for CompTIA A+ and what is the total cost?

Two exams are required for CompTIA A+. The cost is $253 per exam, totaling approximately $506. Please note that per-exam prices can vary by region and reseller, so you should confirm the current price on the official CompTIA store.

Which certification has the lowest upfront exam fee based on the provided data?

The Cisco Certified Support Technician (CCST) IT Support exam has the lowest individual exam fee at $125 USD. The Apple certification is $149 USD, and CompTIA A+ requires two exams at $253 each.

Pricing and feature details on this page are independently researched and verified against official sources.

Pricing shown was accurate at the time of publishing and may change — verify on the official site.